top of page
  • Writer's pictureSophia Nelson

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Right off the bat let’s just say that I was fairly disappointed. Throughout the book it had many spots where it had gotten boring or it would almost feel like it repeats itself over and over again but just slightly enough where I was able to get though it. It also lacked some character development where it really needed it. Onto the summary where you’ll understand what I mean...

Summary

The United States has identified that love is a serious disease due to its intense feelings of overwhelming joy and sadness at the same time. Thus, the Scientists have created a “cure” for the disease and it is administered when one turns 18. Lena Haloway is our main character and she is just graduating from her all girls school. She is embarking on her last summer of being “cure-free” and intends to spend it with Hana, her best friend. But, Hana starts to have a mind of her own after the Invalids raid tests that determine who they will marry and their future jobs. Hana and Lena then meet Alex and the whole story starts up with lying, sneaking out, and getting the one thing Lena never thought she would get.

Why I Enjoyed Reading

I enjoyed lots of the thoughts and feelings Lena had. It’s very easy to relate to even if I have never been in any situation like hers. !Spoiler Ahead! I did like the relationship formed between Lena and Alex, too. I though it was cute and exciting, considering that boys and girls are segregated, so Lena has no clue how a relationship works. However, Alex didn’t seem to have any specific attributes about his personality except for the fact that he obviously loves Lena the whole book. !End of Spoiler! Hana and Lena’s relationship was very sweet too. It was fun watching them figure things out and also sad when things hadn’t gone as planned but that’s why the writing is good. Lauren Oliver made it so easy to feel every emotion throughout the book which I think really ties into the whole “cure” factor thing.

Some quotes that I liked from the book:



Overall

If you want a quick read with romance and heart breaks along the way, I highly recommend. It was enjoyable although boring in some moments. It is a series as well but I’m not sure I have the heart to read the next two books, Pandemonium and Requiem, due to the ending of this book. !Spoiler ahead! The end of the book is pretty sad. Alex basically sacrifices himself for Lena and I just don’t think I want to read the next book where they will no longer be together. !End of Spoiler!

Thank you for reading! Comment down below on thoughts and/or suggestions and if I should read the rest of the series. :)


9 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page